Follow us on Social Media

About Our Organization

The Washington Asparagus Commission was created in March 1991 by a group of Washington farmers and asparagus growers. The Washington Asparagus Commission’s mission is to support the economic and environmental sustainability of the Washington Asparagus industry.

Washington State is the largest grower of asparagus in the United States (as of the 2017 season). In 2017, over 23 million pounds of asparagus were harvested, with an economic impact of roughly $45 million for growers and packers.

Washington’s mineral-rich volcanic soils, abundant natural water supply, warm sunny days and cool nights provide ideal growing conditions for asparagus. The harvest season for Washington State typically runs late March/April to mid/late June.

The Board of the Washington Asparagus Commission consists of nine members. Six members are asparagus producers who are elected from designated districts. One member represents fresh handlers of asparagus and one member represents processors who are each elected by their respective groups. One board member represents the Washington Department of Agriculture.

Board meetings are held quarterly – January, April, July and October.